Courtney Andersen studies the role of estrogen receptor-alpha in ovarian cancer.
Chris Barnes investigates the structural details by which transcription factor activity regulates RNA Polymerase II during the universal process of eukaryotic gene expression.
Soma Jobaggy studies nitrated fatty acid pharmacology and the antioxidant response in hypertensive end-organ damage.
Allison Nagle studies growth factor receptor signaling in breast cancer.
Journal Club Schedule

Pharmacology Journal Club

is held on selected Mondays during the Fall and Spring Terms in the Thomas E. Starzl Biomedical Tower, Conference Room 1395 beginning at 8:30 am.


Announcements may also be found on:

 The Department of Pharmacology & Chemical Biology Events Calendar

and on the electronic message board in the main hall on the 13th floor of BSTWR.



Previous Journal Clubs

4/23/2018- 12:00 AM : Victoria Veroli
"Allosteric coupling from G protein to the agonist binding pocket in GPCRs"

4/16/2018- 8:30 AM : Nicholas Smith
"Targeting Nonclassical Oncogenes for Therapy in T-ALL"

4/9/2018- 1:00 PM : Rochelle Fletcher

The role of NSAID-induced ER stress and immunomodulation in the suppression of colorectal tumorigenesis


4/6/2018- 10:00 AM : Vera Procaccia

The scaffolding protein EBP50 regulates mitochondrial dynamics and redox balance in vascular smooth muscle cells


3/19/2018- 8:30 AM : Joseph Galley
"CD70 Exacerbates Blood Pressure Elevation and Renal Damage in Response to Repeated Hypertensive Stimuli"

3/14/2018- 1:00 PM : Alison Nagle

Credentialing IGF1R pathway activation as a novel therapeutic target in E-cadherin deficient breast cancer


2/26/2018- 8:30 AM : Stephanie Mutchler
"LXRβ is required for glucocorticoid-induced hyperglycemia and hepatosteatosis in mice"

2/19/2018- 8:30 AM : Song-My Hoang
"Proteomic Profiling Reveals a Specific Role for Translesion DNA Polymerase η in the Alternative Lengthening of Telomeres"

2/12/2018- 2:00 PM : Emily Bossart

Investigation of EMT-like Phenotypes in Established and Novel Model Systems of Invasive Lobular Breast Carcinoma


2/12/2018- 8:30 AM : Alex White
"Retromer terminates the generation of cAMP by internalized PTH-receptors"

2/5/2018- 8:30 AM : Zachary Yochum
"Inactivation of Interferon Receptor Promotes the Establishment of Immune Privileged Tumor Microenvironment"

1/29/2018- 8:30 AM : Zheqi Li
"Invasive Lobular Carcinoma Cell Lines Are Characterized by Unique Estrogen-Mediated Gene Expression Patterns and Altered Tamoxifen Response"

1/22/2018- 8:30 AM : Joshua Lorenz - Guertin
"Neuropeptide Delivery to Synapses by Long-Range Vesicle Circulation and Sporadic Capture"

1/8/2018- 8:30 AM : Thong Loung
"Evolutionary and Functional Analysis of the Invariant SWIM Domain in the Conserved Shu2/SWS1 Protein Family from Saccharomyces cerevisiae to Homo sapiens"

12/11/2017- 10:00 AM : Chen-Shan Julia Woodcock

Therapeutic Potential of Electrophilic Nitro-oleic Acid for The Treatment of Triple Negative Breast Cancer


12/11/2017- 8:30 AM : Gregory Buchan
"Hepatic Acetyl CoA Links Adipose Tissue Inflammation to Hepatic Insulin Resistance and Type 2 Diabetes"

12/4/2017- 8:30 AM : Andrew Lamade
"Biochemical signaling by remote ischemic conditioning of the arm versus thigh: Is one raise of the cuff enough?"

11/27/2017- 8:30 AM : Lloyd Harvey
"Transmembrane helix hydrophobicity is an energetic barrier during the retrotranslocation of integral membrane ERAD substrates."

11/13/2017- 8:30 AM : Nicholas Todd
2-adrenergic receptor control of endosomal PTH receptor signaling via Gβγ"

11/6/2017- 8:30 AM : Braulio Bonilla
"MEF2C-MYOCD and Leiomodin1 Suppressionby miRNA-214 Promotes Smooth Muscle Cell Phenotype Switching in Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension"
First 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ... Last 

Program Achievements

Molecular Pharmacology Graduate Program Ranked #2 in National Research Council Rankings

Outcomes:  Time to disseration, last five graduating clasess:  4.5 years, Completion Rate: 84.8%

Ranked #12 in National of Institute of Health funding of departments of Pharmacology

Ranked in the top 15 in funding for twenty two consecutive years

Back to Top