Graduate Faculty

Tija C. Jacob, PhD Associate Professor
Director, Molecular Pharmacology Graduate Program

Patrick J. Pagano, PhD Professor
Associate Director, Molecular Pharmacology Graduate Program
Program Director, Predoctoral Training in Pharmacological Sciences

Guillermo G. Romero, PhD Associate Professor
Associate Director, Molecular Pharmacology Graduate Program

Jinwoo Ahn, PhD Assistant Professor

Elias Aizenman, PhD Professor, Neurobiology

Imad Al Ghouleh, PhD Research Assistant Professor

Jonathan K. Alder, PhD Assistant Professor of Medicine

Daniel Altschuler, PhD Associate Professor

Carolyn J. Anderson, PhD Professor, Radiology

Christopher Bakkenist, PhD Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology

Aaron Barchowsky, PhD Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health

Hülya Bayir, MD Professor of Critical Care Medicine, Environmental and Occupational Health UPMC Chair in Critical Care Pediatric Research

Juliane I. Beier, PhD Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition

Kara A. Bernstein, PhD Assistant Professor, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics

Robert J. Binder, PhD Associate Professor of Immunology

Lori A. Birder, PhD Professor, Medicine

Dr. Alessandro Bisello Associate Professor

Timothy F. Burns, MD, PhD Assistant Professor, Medicine

Stephen Chan, MD, PhD Associate Professor of Medicine

Yuanyuan Chen, PhD Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology

Dennis Curran, PhD Professor, Chemistry

Donald B. DeFranco, PhD Professor & Vice Chair of Medical Education, Associate Dean for Medical Student Research

John Fernstrom, PhD Professor, Psychiatry

Bruce A. Freeman, PhD Irwin Fridovich Professor and Chair

Peter A. Friedman, PhD Professor

Ferruccio Galbiati, PhD Professor

Mark T. Gladwin, MD Distinguished Professor; Division Chief, PACCM and Director, Vascular Medicine Institute

J. Timothy Greenamyre, MD, PhD Professor of Neurology

Angela M. Gronenborn, PhD Rosalind Franklin Professor and Chair, Structural Biology.

Gregg E. Homanics, PhD Professor, Anesthesiology

John P. Horn, PhD Professor, Neurobiology

Edwin K. Jackson, PhD Professor

Yu Jiang, PhD Associate Professor

Valerian Kagan, PhD Professor and Vice Chair, Environmental and Occupational Health

Anthony Kanai, PhD Associate Professor, Medicine

Lawrence Kane, PhD Associate Professor, Immunology

Seungwon Kim, MD Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology

Thomas Kleyman, MD Professor of Medicine, Cell Biology, Physiology, Chief, Renal-Electrolyte Division

Adrian Lee, PhD Professor; Director, Institute of Personalized Medicine

Edwin S. Levitan, PhD Professor & Vice Chair, Research

Michael T. Lotze, MD Professor, Surgery and Bioengineering

Ana L. Mora, MD Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine

Carola Neumann, MD Visiting Associate Professor

Enrico M Novelli, MD Associate Professor of Medicine, Director UPMC Adult Sickle Cell Disease Program

Steffi Oesterreich, PhD Professor & Vice Chair, Precision and Translational Pharmacology

Roderick J. O'Sullivan, PhD Assistant Professor

Michael J. Palladino, PhD Professor & Vice Chair, Academics

Bruce A. Pitt, PhD Professor and Chair, Environmental and Occupational Health

Francisco J. Schopfer, PhD Associate Professor

Iain Scott, PhD Assistant Professor of Medicine

Sruti Shiva, PhD Associate Professor

Shivendra Singh, PhD Professor and UPMC Chair in Cancer Prevention Research

Thomas E. Smithgall, PhD Professor and Chair, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics

Richard Steinman, MD Associate Professor, Medicine

Adam C. Straub, PhD Assistant Professor

Pei Tang, PhD Professor, Anesthesiology and Structural Biology

Amantha Thathiah, PhD Assistant Professor of Neurobiology

Mary M. Torregrossa, PhD Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Thanos Tzounopoulos, PhD Associate Professor, Otolaryngology

Ben Van Houten, PhD Professor

Jean-Pierre Vilardaga, PhD Professor

Qiming Jane Wang, PhD Associate Professor

Zhou Wang, PhD Professor and UPMC Chair in Urological Research

Peter Wipf, PhD University Professor of Chemistry

Wen Xie, MD, PhD Professor and the Joseph Koslow Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences

Yan Xu, PhD Professor, Anesthesiology and Structural Biology

Cheng Zhang, PhD Assistant Professor

Lin Zhang, PhD Professor

Student News


Molecular Pharmacology Journal Club
Aaron Johnson
Thomas E. Starzl Biomedical Science Tower
1395 Conference Room

Recent Publications

Program Achievements

Molecular Pharmacology Graduate Program Ranked #2 in National Research Council Rankings


Time to dissertation Defense
, last five graduating classes:  4.6 years, Completion Rate: 86.49%

First Author Publications (All students, past 5 year mean):  2.03;   Total Publications: 5.10

F-series Grants (F30/F31) (All Students, past 5 year mean):  12/34 (35%) 

Ranked #9 in National of Institute of Health funding of departments of Pharmacology

Ranked in the top 15 in funding for twenty-four consecutive years